Are you bored with Facebook or are you worried about your privacy? Then you can permanently delete your account. We explain how!
With more than 1.56 billion active users per month, Facebook is nowadays almost taken for granted. Your mother, your neighbor, your boss, your grandmother … chances are that you will find them on the social network.
Yet people are gradually starting to drop out, especially among young people the interest is declining. If you also get bored of Facebook or if you start to worry a bit about just throwing your data in, you can delete your account. We explain how you do that!
1. Temporarily or permanently delete your Facebook?
You may not be completely fed up with Facebook, but you just need a time-out. Then you can deactivate your account indefinitely. Click on the arrow in the top right corner of the blue bar and choose ‘Settings‘ in the drop-down menu. Under ‘ Your Facebook information‘, click on ‘View‘ next to ‘ Delete your Account and data ‘. Here you will see various options that you should take into account before deleting your account completely, such as downloading your data, find more about that later. Click on ‘Deactivate Account‘ to start the deactivation process. You then keep your Messenger account, which is useful for keeping in touch with your contacts. After you have indicated a reason for the deactivation, confirm with the ‘buttonDeactivate ‘.
Your timeline will then disappear from Facebook and all your information will not be found, but your account will not be deleted. Facebook archives it for you, so that you can restore everything to its former glory as soon as you log in again. In this case it is still possible for your name to pop up here and there on the social network, for example with your friends. If you want everything to disappear definitively, follow the next steps.
2. Save your Facebook photos and other data
Before you permanently delete your account, you can download a copy of all your Facebook data and save it locally. Once your account has been deleted, there is no way to restore that data. Go to ‘Settings’ via the arrow at the top right and choose ‘View your data’ under ‘Your Facebook data ‘.
Perhaps you are only interested in a number of specific photos. You can download it by opening the photos and clicking on ‘ Download ‘ at the bottom of ‘Options’ . That way you can also download photos that your friends have shared with you. Now is also the time to write down contact information or birthdays that you do not want to forget.
3. Check your connected apps
Many apps and websites make it possible to log in with your Facebook account, so you don’t have to create a new account. That is very handy, but if you decide to delete your Facebook account, you naturally also lose access to all those other services. Some apps allow you to adjust your login method, but with others you cannot unlink your account from Facebook.
You can find your connected apps again by going to the settings via the arrow at the top right and then choosing ‘ Apps and websites ‘ in the left menu . Go through this list and see if there are crucial apps or services that you would rather not miss.
4. Delete your Facebook account
Once you have completed the above steps, you can proceed to permanently delete your account. In the past it was difficult to find this option, but recently Facebook has made it a lot easier for you to delete your account. To do this, go to the settings again, select ‘ Your Facebook data ‘ and click on delete. Then click ‘ Delete Account ‘ again, enter your password and confirm one last time.
5. Don’t return!
Your account has now been deleted, but Facebook still leaves the door ajar. If you try to log in to the social network within 30 days with your deleted account, you can still undo the deletion. After 30 days there is no turning back and the door is closed for good. If you then want to return to the social network, you must create a new account.