Google Home: How to delete your conversation history

Want to delete the history of your Google Home conversations? In this article, we will show you how to proceed. You can erase all traces of your voice instructions if you are one of the most demanding on their privacy.

Connected speakers are now an integral part of the lives of millions of people. Google Home, Amazon Echo, they are dedicated to replacing conventional speakers. The benefits they bring are numerous. In addition to being a medium for broadcasting music in our living rooms, personal assistants offer a convenient way to perform various digital tasks simply via voice instructions. But these devices are also the subject of various controversies, including the privacy of users.

Google Home: How to delete your conversation history

You probably already know it. All you ask Google Home is not stored locally but on the servers of the Mountain View firm. For most people, there is no reason to fear that they will be recorded indefinitely on third-party servers, especially as Amazon has recently admitted that these conversations are stored indefinitely, Google highlights the fact that this data allows the AI ​​to be more accurate and bring a personalized experience.

Like the web browsing history, you can periodically delete Google Home voice data. Here’s how to proceed:

  • From a smartphone, tablet or PC, sign in to your Google Account
  • Then go to the page at this address (My Activity> Google Assistant).
  • At the top right of the page, click on the icon with three vertical dots and then on Delete activities.
  • Under the “Delete by date” section, define the period to consider for deleting the history. To delete everything, simply select All period.
    Finally, press Delete at the bottom of the page and confirm the action.

You can also set an option so that your Google Home conversation history and Google Assistant in general (on your other devices) are automatically deleted periodically (every three months or every 18 months). To do this, return to in My Activity> Google Assistant and click Choose to automatically delete.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *